EFSI Investment Committee

EFSI Investment Committee

    •  Display in:
    • de
    • en
    • fr
  • Available in: de en fr

The EFSI Investment Committee is responsible for approving the use of the EU guarantee for EIB operations supporting strategic investments throughout the EU under the Infrastructure and Innovation Window (IIW), in line with EFSI investment policies and the requirements of EU Regulation 2017/2396.

The Investment Committee comprises the Managing Director and eight independent experts. The Steering Board appoints the latter, following an open and transparent selection procedure, for a fixed term of up to three years, renewable up to a maximum term of six years.

As per EFSI Regulation, the Investment Committee is gender-balanced and diversified; experts have a high level of market experience in project structuring and financing, as well as micro- and macro-economic expertise in one or more of the key fields covered by EFSI, amongst them research and innovation, transport, renewable energy, education and health.

Investment Committee decisions are taken by a simple majority, independently and individually, with each of the members of the Investment Committee having one vote, including the Managing Director.

Decisions approving the use of the EU guarantee are made public, and - since 2018 - also the rationale behind the decisions.

The Investment Committee is accountable to the EFSI Steering Board.

Investment Committee members