By letter dated 27 December 2012, the Czech Republic nominated, by common accord with the Republic of Bulgaria, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic, Mr Miroslav Matej (Czech Deputy Minister of Finance) for appointment as Member of the Audit Committee to succeed Mr Joseph G. Galea, who had resigned.

By letter dated 14 January 2013, the Board of Governors was invited to vote on the proposed appointment.

The decision to nominate Mr Miroslav Matej was taken on 28 January 2013, the date on which the requisite majority of Governors' votes was reached.