By letter dated 19 December 2012, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg nominated, Mr Arsène Jacoby (Conseiller de Direction 1ère classe, Ministère des Finances) for appointment as a Full Member of the Board of Directors of the EIB to succeed Mr Gaston Reinesch who had tendered his resignation. By letter dated 21 December 2012, the Board of Governors was invited to vote on the proposed appointment.

The decision to appoint Mr Arsène Jacoby was taken on 18 January 2013, the date on which the requisite majority of Governors' votes was reached.

The term of office of Mr Arsène Jacoby will expire in 2013 at the end of the day either of the Annual Meeting or of the approval of the financial statements for the 2012 financial year, whichever is the later.