Following his election to Mayor of Helsinki and the official appointment, Jan Vapaavuori has tendered his resignation from the post of Vice-President and Member of the Management Committee of the European Investment Bank (EIB) on 8 June 2017.

Mr Vapaavuori took up the post of the EIB Vice-President on 1 September 2015 and during his mandate held supervisory responsibility for EIB operations in Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania and Sweden and in several countries outside the European Union. He was also in charge of Funding & Treasury, Financing Urban Development and Housing, Projects Eligibility and Corporate Social Responsibility.

As of 16 February 2017 Mr Vapaavuori was on leave of absence.

The Management Committee is the EIB’s permanent collegiate executive body, consisting of a President and eight Vice-Presidents. The members of the Management Committee are appointed by the Board of Governors – the Finance Ministers of the 28 EU Member States – for up to six years.