By letter of 29 March 2007, the Republic of Finland nominated Ms Kristina Sarjo (Financial Counsellor, Director of Unit for International Affairs at the Ministry of Finance) for appointment as alternate member of the EIB's Board of Directors to replace Mr Wolfgang Nitsche, who has resigned.

On 17 April 2007, the Governors of the EIB were invited by written procedure to vote on the proposed appointment.

The decision to appoint Ms Kristina Sarjo was taken on 3 May 2007, the date on which the Bank received the requisite majority of votes in favour from the Governors.

Ms Kristina Sarjo has been appointed for the remainder of her predecessor’s term of office, which will expire in 2008 at the end of the day of the Annual Meeting of the Board of Governors during which the annual report, balance sheet and profit and loss account for the 2007 financial year are examined.