The Republic of Finland nominated, by common accord with the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania and the Kingdom of Sweden, Ms Joanna Tikkanen (Ministerial Advisor, Ministry of Finance) for appointment as a Alternate Member of the Board of Directors of the EIB to succeed Ms Karin Rysavy, who had resigned with effect from 29 June 2016.

By letter dated 15 July 2016, the Board of Governors was invited to vote on the proposed appointment.

The decision to appoint Ms Joanna Tikkanen was taken on 09 August 2016, the date on which the requisite majority of Governors' votes was reached.

The term of office of Ms Joanna Tikkanen will expire in 2018 at the end of the day either of the Annual Meeting or of the approval of the financial statements for the previous financial year, whichever is the later.