The Kingdom of Denmark nominated, by common accord with the Hellenic Republic, Ireland and Romania, Mr Rasmus Mortensen (Head of Division, Ministry for Business and Growth) for appointment as an Alternate Member of the Board of Directors of the EIB to succeed Mr  Nico Petris, who had resigned with effect from 1 July 2016. 

By letter dated 22 June 2016, the Board of Governors was invited to vote on the proposed appointment. 

The decision to appoint Mr Rasmus Mortensen was taken on 5 July 2016, the date on which the requisite majority of Governors' votes was reached. 

The term of office of Mr Rasmus Mortensen will expire in 2018 at the end of the day either of the Annual Meeting or of the approval of the financial statements for the previous financial year, whichever is the later.