On a proposal from the Government of Greece, in common accord with the Governments of Denmark, Ireland and Romania, the Board of Directors decided on 30 April 2008 to submit to the Board of Governors Mr Plutarchos Sakellaris's candidacy for the post of Vice-President and Member of the Management Committee, to replace Mr Torsten Gersfelt, who had resigned.

The written procedure inviting the Board of Governors to vote on the proposed appointment was initiated on 7 May 2008.

The decision to appoint Mr Plutarchos Sakellaris was taken on 3 June 2008, the date on which the requisite majority of votes in favour was reached. Mr Plutarchos Sakellaris therefore took up the position of Vice-President and Member of the Management Committee on 1 August 2008.

Furthermore, the Board of Governors conferred the title of Honorary Vice-President on Mr Torsten Gersfelt.