By letter dated 20 August 2014, the Federal Republic of Germany nominated Mr Martin Heipertz (Head of Division “European Policy”, Federal Ministry of Finance) for appointment as an Alternate Member of the Board of Directors of the EIB to succeed Mr Ralph Müller who had tendered his resignation with effect from 15 September 2014.

By letter dated 21 August 2014, the Board of Governors was invited to vote on the proposed appointment.

The decision to appoint Mr Martin Heipertz was taken on 5 September 2014, the date on which the requisite majority of Governors' votes was reached.

The term of office of Mr Martin Heipertz will expire in 2018 at the end of the day either of the Annual Meeting or of the approval of the financial statements for the previous financial year, whichever is the later.