By letter dated 29 September 2014, the Commission nominated Mr Maarten Verwey (Deputy Director-General, Directorate-General for Economic and Financial Affairs (ECFIN)) for appointment as a Full Member of the Board of Directors of the EIB to succeed Mr Gerassimos Thomas, who had tendered his resignation.

By letter dated 1 October 2014, the Board of Governors was invited to vote on the proposed appointment.

The decision to appoint Mr Maarten Verwey was taken on 16 October 2014, the date on which the requisite majority of Governors' votes was reached.

The term of office of Mr Maarten Verwey will expire in 2018 at the end of the day either of the Annual Meeting or of the approval of the financial statements for the previous financial year, whichever is the later.