By letter of 21 March 2007, the European Commission nominated Mr Dirk Ahner (Director-General, Regional Policy Directorate-General of the European Commission) for appointment as alternate member of the EIB's Board of Directors to replace Mr Graham Meadows, who has resigned.

On 28 March 2007, the Governors of the EIB were invited by written procedure to vote on the proposed appointment.

The decision to appoint Mr Dirk Ahner was taken on 18 April 2007, the date on which the Bank received the requisite majority of votes in favour from the Governors.

Mr Dirk Ahner has been appointed for the remainder of his predecessor’s term of office, which will expire in 2008 at the end of the day of the Annual Meeting of the Board of Governors during which the annual report, balance sheet and profit and loss account for the 2007 financial year are examined.