The French Republic nominated Mr Arnaud DELAUNAY (DG Trésor − Head of Unit, European bilateral relations and financial instruments) for appointment as an Alternate Member of the Board of Directors of the EIB to succeed Ms Alice TERRACOL, who has tendered her resignation.

By letter dated 30 August 2016, the Board of Governors was invited to vote on the proposed appointment.

The decision to appoint Mr Arnaud DELAUNAY was taken on 15 September 2016, the date on which the requisite majority of Governors' votes was reached.

The term of office of Mr Arnaud DELAUNAY will expire in 2018 at the end of the day either of the Annual Meeting or of the approval of the financial statements for the previous financial year, whichever is the later.