By letter dated 8 June 2017, the Republic of Latvia nominated, by common accord with the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden, Ms Aija ZITCERE for appointment as an Alternate Member of the Board of Directors of the EIB to succeed Ms Riina LAIGO, who had tendered her resignation.

By letter dated 19 June 2017, the Board of Governors was invited to vote on theproposed appointment.

The decision to appoint Ms Aija ZITCERE was taken on 7 July 2017, the date on which the requisite majority of Governors' votes was reached.

The term of office of Ms Aija ZITCERE will expire in 2018 at the end of the day either of the Annual Meeting or of the approval of the financial statements for the previous financial year, whichever is the later.

Ms ZITCERE is currently Director of Financial Markets Policy Department in the Ministry of Finance. She holds a Master in Economics and Macroeconomics from the Riga Technical University and a Bachelor of Social Sciences and Business Administration from the University of Latvia.