By letter dated 07 February 2017, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland nominated, Ms Jennifer Young (Deputy Director of the European Engagement Team at HM Treasury) for appointment as an Alternate Member of the Board of Directors of the EIB to succeed Ms Vanessa MacDougall, who has resigned on 8 February 2017.

By letter dated 10 February 2017, the Board of Governors was invited to vote on the proposed appointment. 

The decision to appoint Ms Jennifer Young was taken on 3 March 2017, the date on which the requisite majority of Governors' votes was reached.

The term of office of Ms Jennifer Young will expire in 2018 at the end of the day either of the Annual Meeting or of the approval of the financial statements for the previous financial year, whichever is the later.