Following the expiry of the term of office of the entire Board of Directors on 3 June, the day of the 2008 Annual Meeting, the Republic of Latvia nominated, by letter dated 10 June 2008, Ms Irēna Krūmane (Chairwoman of the Finance and Capital Market Commission) for re-appointment as Full Member of the Board of Directors and, acting by common accord with the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden, nominated Mr Andžs Ūbelis (Deputy State Secretary, Ministry of Finance) for appointment as Alternate Member of the Board of Directors.

By letter dated 17 June 2008, the Board of Governors were invited to vote on the proposed appointment.

The decision to appoint Ms Irēna Krūmane and Mr Andžs Ūbelis was taken on 4 July 2008, the date on which the requisite majority of Governors' votes was reached.