By letter of 1 February 2006, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland nominated Mr Chris Austin (Head, EU Finance Team, HM Treasury) for appointment as alternate member of the Bank's Board of Directors to succeed Mr Stewart James, who had tendered his resignation.

On 10 February 2006, the EIB's Governors were invited by written procedure to vote on the proposed appointment.

The decision to appoint Mr Austin was taken on 1 March 2006, the date on which the Bank received the requisite majority of votes in favour by the Governors.

Mr Chris Austin has been appointed for the remainder of his predecessor's term of office, which will expire in 2008 at the end of the day of the Annual Meeting of the Board of Governors during which the annual report, balance sheet and profit and loss account for the 2007 financial year are examined.