The Republic of Slovenia has nominated, by common accord with the Republic of Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, the Republic of Croatia, the Republic of Cyprus, Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland and the Slovak Republic, Mr Andrej Kavčič (Head of International Finance Department, Ministry of Finance) for appointment as an Alternate Member of the Board of Directors of the EIB to succeed Mr Tomasz Skurzewski, who has tendered his resignation.

By letter dated 15 April 2016, the Board of Governors was invited to vote on the proposed appointment.

The decision to appoint Mr Andrej Kavčič was taken on 2 May 2016, the date on which the requisite majority of Governors' votes was reached.

The term of office of Mr Andrej Kavčič will expire in 2018 at the end of the day either of the Annual Meeting or of the approval of the financial statements for the previous financial year, whichever is the later.