SearchEn menu en ClientConnect
Top 5 search resultsSee all results Advanced search
Top searches
Most visited pages

    PF4EE - Private Finance for Energy Efficiency

    Unlocking Europe’s energy savings potential

    PF4EE aims to address the limited access to adequate and affordable commercial financing for energy efficiency investments.

    The instrument targets projects that support the implementation of National Energy Efficiency Action Plans or other energy efficiency programmes of EU Member States.

      PF4EE instrument will be replaced by InvestEU.

    Third request for proposals is now open!

    If you are a financial intermediary, download the Request for Proposals for a detailed description of the instrument and instructions on how to apply.

    How it works

    The PF4EE instrument’s two core objectives are:

    • to make energy efficiency lending a more sustainable activity within European financial institutions, considering the energy efficiency sector as a distinct market segment
    • to increase the availability of debt financing to eligible energy efficiency investments

    The instrument is managed by the EIB and funded by the Programme for the Environment and Climate Action (LIFE programme).

    The LIFE Programme committed €80m to fund the credit risk protection and expert support services. The EIB will leverage this amount, making a minimum of €480m available in long-term financing.

    The PF4EE instrument will provide:

    1. a portfolio-based credit risk protection provided by means of cash-collateral (Risk Sharing Facility), together with
    2. long-term financing from the EIB (EIB Loan for Energy Efficiency) and
    3. expert support services for the Financial Intermediaries (Expert Support Facility)


    Geographical coverage

    To reach optimal diversification across the EU Member States, one PF4EE operation shall be implemented per country. The EIB has already signed an operation in Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Poland, Portugal and Spain.