Further to elections in Austria, Dr. Michael Spindelegger was appointed Federal Minister of Finance on 16 December 2013 and remains additionally Vice-Chancellor. He also becomes EIB Governor for the Republic of Austria.

Born in 1959 in Mödling, Dr. Michael Spindelegger holds a graduation as Doktor iuris – Doctor of Law from the University of Vienna.

Before being appointed Federal Minister of Finance, he already served as Vice Chancellor since April 2011 and between December 2008 and December 2013 as Federal Minister for European and International Affairs.

He was Head of the ÖAAB, the Employees’ Association of the Austrian People’s Party, between 2009 and 2011 and from October 2006 to November 2008 he was the second president of the Austrian National Council. Between 1989 and October 2006 he was successively Speaker on European Relations at the ÖAAB, Deputy Head of the ÖAAB, Member of the Federal Chamber in the Austrian Parliament, Member of the National Assembly, Member of the European Parliament, Member in the Parliamentary Committee on Economics, Currency Issues and Industrial Policy, Deputy Member in the Committee for Social Issues and Employment, Member of the National Assembly in the Austrian Parliament, Party’s Speaker on Foreign Affairs, Head of the Parliamentary Committee on Foreign Affairs, Chairman of the NÖAAB (ÖAAB of Lower Austria), Member of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, Deputy Parliamentary Group Leader of the Austrian Peoples Party and Head of the Austrian Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe.

Besides his political career, Dr. Michael Spindelegger has been Assistant Lecturer and Researcher at the Institute of Criminal Law of the University of Vienna, Judges’ Assistant at several Courts of Law in Vienna, Civil Servant for the Federal State Lower Austria and Member in the Cabinet of the Minister of Defence. He also followed a Trainee Programme at the Federation of Austrian Industrialists and was employed by GiroCredit (Austrian bank) within the Secretary of the Board for Strategic Management.