Marta Gajęcka, EIB Vice-President from August 2007 to August 2010 ©EIB

By letter of 16 January 2007, the Republic of Poland nominated Ms Marta Gajęcka (Under-Secretary of State at the Finance Ministry) for appointment as full member of the EIB's Board of Directors to replace Mr Jacek Dominik, who has resigned.

On 24 January 2007, the Governors of the EIB were invited by written procedure to vote on the proposed appointment.

The decision to appoint Ms Gajęcka was taken on 6 February 2007, the date on which the Bank received the requisite majority of votes in favour from the Governors.

Ms Marta Gajęcka has been appointed for the remainder of her predecessor's term of office, which will expire in 2008 at the end of the day of the annual meeting of the Board of Governors during which the annual report, balance sheet and profit and loss account for the 2007 financial year are examined.