By letter of 18 January 2007, Ireland nominated Mr Kevin Cardiff (Deputy Secretary General, Banking, Finance and Pensions Division, Finance Ministry) for appointment as full member of the EIB's Board of Directors to succeed Mr Noel O'Gorman, who has resigned.

On 24 January 2007, the Governors of the EIB were invited by written procedure to vote on the proposed appointment.

The decision to appoint Mr Cardiff was taken on 6 February 2007, the date on which the Bank received the requisite majority of votes in favour from the Governors.

Mr Kevin Cardiff has been appointed for the remainder of his predecessor's term of office, which will expire in 2008 at the end of the day of the annual meeting of the Board of Governors during which the annual report, balance sheet and profit and loss account for the 2007 financial year are examined.