Marta Gajęcka, EIB Vice-President from August 2007 to August 2010 ©EIB

Following consultations between the Bank’s President and the Governor for the Republic of Poland, Ms Zyta Gilowska, the latter, acting in agreement with the Republic of Bulgaria, the Republic of Cyprus, the Czech Republic, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Slovak Republic and the Republic of Slovenia, has put forward, the candidature of Ms Marta Gajęcka as Vice President and Member of the Management Committee of the European Investment Bank to succeed Mr Ivan Pilip, who has tendered his resignation.

The written procedure inviting the Board of Governors to vote on this proposal was launched on 11 June 2007.

The decision to appoint Ms Marta Gajęcka was taken on 26 June 2007, the date on which the requisite majority of votes was reached. Ms Marta Gajęcka has therefore been appointed as Vice-President and Member of the Management Committee, with effect from 16 August 2007.

The Board of Governors also conferred the title of Honorary Vice-President on Mr Ivan Pilip.