By letter of 4 December 2007, Romania nominated Mr Eugen Orlando Teodorovici (Secretary of State, Romanian Ministry of Economy and Finance) for appointment as full member of the EIB's Board of Directors to replace Mr Sebastian Vladescu, who has resigned, and, by common accord with the Kingdom of Denmark, the Hellenic Republic and Ireland, Mr Stefan Nanu (Director-General of the General Treasury and Public Debt Department) for appointment as alternate member of the EIB's Board of Directors.

On 7 December 2007, the Governors of the EIB were invited by written procedure to vote on these proposed appointments.

The decision to appoint Mr Eugen Orlando Teodorovici and Mr Stefan Nanu was taken on 19 December 2007, the date on which the Bank received the requisite majority of votes in favour from the Governors.

The terms of office of Mr Teodorovici and Mr Nanu will expire in 2008, at the end of the day of the annual meeting of the Board of Governors during which the annual report, balance sheet and profit and loss account for the 2007 financial year are examined.