The Barents Euro-Arctic Council

Our regions of activity
Within the European Union
Enlargement countries
European Free Trade Association
EIB in the Mediterranean partner countries*
Maximizing synergies
Financing & advisory services
Private equity
Advisory services
FEMIP Support Package
How to apply
Trust fund
Technical advisory
Risk capital operations
CAMENA climate action envelope
Organisation and staff
EU Eastern neighbours
Cooperation with other institutions and organisations
Financing facilities
DCFTA Initiative
Trust fund
Examples of EPTATF Operations
Institutional framework
Central Asia
Institutional framework
Cooperation with other institutions and organisations
Financing facilities
Technical assistance and grants
The EU bank in ACP
Madagascar and the EIB
Kenya and the EIB
Our focus in the ACP region
Looking for a loan?
Investment Facility
Boost Africa
Our partners
Senegal and the EIB
Malawi and the EIB
Asia and Latin America
United Kingdom and the EIB
Agriculture sector
Digital Economy sector
Education and training sector
Energy sector
Forestry sector
Health and life science sector
Regional development & cohesion
Transport sector
Trans-European Networks
Transport sector
Trans-European Networks
Urban Development sector
Global Climate City Challenge
Water and wastewater management sector
Projects to be financed
Recently approved projects
Projects to be financed - Breakdown by region
Projects to be financed - Breakdown by sector
Explanatory notes
Financed projects
Projects to be financed - Breakdown by sector
Financed projects - Breakdown by region
EFSI project list
Project cycle
Applying for a loan
Operations evaluation
Operations Evaluation – Process and methodology

The Barents Euro-Arctic Council

    •  Display in:
    • de
    • en
    • fr
  • Available in: de en fr

The cooperation in the Barents Euro-Arctic Region (BEAR) was launched in 1993 when all five Nordic Countries, the Russian Federation and the EU Commission signed a Declaration establishing the Barents Euro-Arctic Council (BEAC) at a Foreign Minister’s Conference in Kirkenes, Norway. At the same time the Barents region’s county governors together with the representatives of indigenous peoples signed a cooperation protocol establishing the Barents Regional Council (BRC). Thus the cooperation in the region of the Barents Sea was set off on two levels: the BEAC is a forum for intergovernmental cooperation and the BRC is a forum for cooperation between the 13 regions of the Member States.

The overarching aim of the Barents Cooperation is to develop the region both socially and economically and to increase the region’s competitiveness in Europe. Cohesion, good governance and sustainable growth of the region are issues regularly discussed at political level and they are promoted through sector projects and activities usually conducted under the working groups. In addition to the multilateral cooperation, there are many bilateral arrangements in the region. One of the aims of the cooperation is to closely follow EU’s Arctic Policy and the Northern Dimension partnership and other relevant programs. The secretariat is located in Kirkenes (Norway).

Back to Institutional Framework