EIB Buildings history and architecture

The EU bank at a glance
Some dates and figures
EIB Group impact: Boosting GDP and jobs
Governance and structure
Statutory bodies
Board of Governors
Ethics and Compliance Committee
Appointment Advisory Committee
Board of Directors
Board Committee on Staff Remuneration and Budget
Board Committee on Risk Policy
Board Committee on Equity Participation Policy
Management Committee
Audit Committee
Control and evaluation
Organisation structure
Corporate responsibility
Providing finance
Reporting on sustainability
Internal Commitment
Tax good governance
Complaints and investigations
Complaints Mechanism overview
What we do
The complaints process
Submit a complaint
Frequently Asked Questions
Investigating Prohibited Conduct
How to report Prohibited Conduct
Part of the EU family
Tackling global challenges together
Together on forced displacement and migration
Together on infrastructure
National Promotional Banks
Civil society
Key policies and standards
The EIB’s commitment to transparent lending
Banking community
Multilateral development banks
Civil Society and Stakeholder Engagement
Transparency and access to information
Key policies and standards
Policy engagement
Civil society events
Contact us
Work with us
We invest in you
Life outside the office
Current vacancies
How to apply
Economic research
European research hub
Our research
Surveys and data
Promoting dialogue
Assessing the macroeconomic impact of EIB activities

EIB Buildings history and architecture

    •  Display in:
    • de
    • en
    • fr
  • Available in: de en fr

First headquarters

Founded in 1958 by the Treaty of Rome, the EIB was first located in Brussels (Belgium). In 1968, the EIB moved to Luxembourg and established its first headquarters in the Place de Metz. Then, in 1980, the EIB moved to its current location in Kirchberg.

West Building and extension

The Kirchberg building’s first phase (1974-80) was designed by British architect Sir Denys Lasdun and is one of his few works outside the UK.

The same architect built the West building extension which was operational in 1995.

East Building

In 2002, an international anonymous competition for architects/designers was launched by the European Investment Bank with Mr. Ricardo Bofill (Spain) as the president of the Jury for a second extension. The competition was won by German architects, Ingenhoven Architekten from Düsseldorf in association with Werner Sobek Ingenieure, Stuttgart for the structure.

The transparency of the new glasshouse complements and completes with the existing low, cruciform building which was designed by the Denys Lasdun Partnership in 1974 as a testament to the EIB’s solidity.

The East Building was inaugurated in June 2008.